Home Page

Our Governing Body

The governing body is responsible for the strategic direction of the school and for acting as a “critical friend” to the Headteacher and staff team. Our role is to examine and question reports provided to us by the Headteacher and other staff members on a whole range of issues that affect the management of the school and staff as well as the progress and achievement of pupil groups. We use a full Governing Body model and meet 5/6 times a year with additional training sessions.

Our Parent Governors are a very important part of the partnership and will gladly advise you about any aspect of school life. Our governors can be contacted via the School Office.

In order to get to know our School to support school improvement, Governors:

  • make regular visits to School
  • examine key management information, data and reports
  • set and review policies
  • have Link Governors that focus on specific areas e.g. Safeguarding, Equality
  • contribute actively to discussions, ask questions and challenge practices
  • commit to attend training
  • build networks with other schools to share good practice

A message from our Governors


Darton Primary School is a great place to be. We pride ourselves on having a very calm and purposeful learning environment. We are very focused on our school improvement with specific developments being thoroughly implemented and embedded.


We are delighted that Ofsted 2016 acknowledged all of the improvements the school had made and we have continued to make great progress, despite the recent challenges with Covid. The staff and governors used the Ofsted report as a benchmark from which to work and our ultimate aim is to ensure that every child receives the best primary education possible, preparing them for the next stage of their learning.


The children are a credit to their families and us and we are extremely proud of them for their individual contributions to the life of the school.


The Governing Body consists of:


Chair of GovernorBriony Butterfield (Parent)
Safeguarding, Health and Safety, SENdCOBriony Butterfield
Curriculum Natalie Jackson (Trust)
Behaviour and attitudesLucy Tate (Parent)
FinanceFather Tim Stevens (Trust)
Pupil Premium and Sports PremiumSally Anne Clarke (Trust)


The Governing Body are committed to the further improvement of all aspects of the school.

The current Governing Body - March 2022