Home Page

The Governing Body

Governing body / Roles


Nigel Gair

Date of appointment:

Role: Chair of Governors -Leadership and Management / Performance Management  / Safeguarding  / Health and Safety


Stacy Richardson - Parent Governor - Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)


Christine Sowerby  - Staff Governor - EYFS


Briony Butterfield - Parent Governor - Behaviour and Pupil Welfare


Sally Clarke - Trust Governor - Pupil Premium and Sports Premium


Lucy Woodhouse





If you wish to speak with a member of the school governing body, please contact the school office directly.



Chair of Governors - Nigel Gair

I have lived locally for the last ten years and have grown to understand the importance of of Darton Primary School to this community. Building on previous experience as Chair of Governors at a Primary School in North Yorkshire I was delighted to take up the role of Chair of Governors here in January 2019. Professionally, I have recently retired from a career of 35 years in the Civil Service where I gained skills in understanding people as well as technical skills in Finance and HR. . Our children are our future and our role is to support, nurture and guide them to make their future the best possible.